Erasmus Ofisi | Ondokuz Mayıs Üniversitesi


About OMU Listen

Our university is a modern local state university founded in 1975 and situated in the Black Sea region. The university has schools in the City of Samsun and 7 other counties. The main campus is located in Samsun, a coastal and harbour city situated on the border of the Black Sea in the North of Türkiye.  

It is situated in a land of almost 9,000 acres with a view of the Black Sea on the one side and a view of the nationally famous Kocadag Mountain on the other side, which is well known for its national yearly walks.  

The University’s first and largest faculty, the Faculty of Medicine, has two university hospitals (adult and children). Similarly, the Faculty of Dentistry is a Dental Hospital. Serving the inhabitants of the entire Black Sea region, both faculties provide treatment in all areas of health and dental care. Our Faculty of Veterinary Medicine also has an animal hospital again serving the local and regional patients. 

Ondokuz Mayis gives great importance to science, education and research and takes place amongst the significant and large universities of Türkiye. The University also aims to satisfy all the needs of a student in terms of professional training and other social needs; such as accommodation, health service, nutrition, cultural, social and sport activities etc. 

The university has 20 faculties, 2 schools (first cycle), 13 vocational schools (short cycle), 5 graduate schools, 20 research centres (including the Black Sea Further Technology Centre and Aeronautics and Space Technologies Centre), 3 educational centres (including a Children’s University, Distance Education Centre and Continuous Education Centre) and one conservatoire. It has 56,369 (3.300 international) students (including postgraduate and distance learning students), 2326 academic staff and 1,770 administrative and 2,224 (with contracts) staff members.

For more information about OMU, please click HERE: